Goo Goo Dolls to release ‘Magnetic’ May 7

NewsFebruary 20, 2013The Buffalo News

The Goo Goo Dolls will release a new studio album, “Magnetic,” on May 7. The band’s 10th studio recording was written and tracked in Los Angeles, New York and London and England over the past two years.

Principal songwriter John Rzeznik worked with outside collaborators on several tracks, among them Rob Cavallo (Green Day, Avril Lavigne), John Shanks (Bon Jovi, Van Halen), Gregg Wattenberg (Train, O.A.R., Five for Fighting) and Greg Wells (Adele, Rufus Wainwright, Katy Perry).

The album’s first single, the sprightly, acoustic guitar-laden anthem “Rebel Beat,” is out now, and has caught the ear of critics, many of whom have praised its infectious blend of modern alternative pop hooks and arena-friendly sing-along chorus. Music industry trade magazine Billboard in particular had kind words for the tune’s “cheerful, exuberant tone.”

“Magnetic” is available for preorder now via iTunes. The “Rebel Beat” single is available for purchase through iTunes, and the official lyric video can be viewed via

– Jeff Miers