Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up The Girl (1998)

ReviewJune 23, 2009Unknown source

(08) - Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up The Girl (1998)

Dizzy Up the Girl is the sixth album by Goo Goo Dolls, released in 1998 on Warner Bros.
The Goo Goo Dolls are a rock band formed in 1986 in Buffalo, New York by John Rzeznik and Robby Takac.
In most parts of the world, "Dizzy Up the Girl" is the Goo Goo Dolls most successful album to date, selling over 3 million copies). The success of Dizzy Up the Girl can arguably be attributed to the ballad "Iris", which was also included in the soundtrack album of the film City of Angels. "Iris" immediately reached #1 on the Hot 100 Airplay chart, also reached #1 on the Billboard Modern Rock chart and the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart, along with several other charts in the U.S and U.K, and included 3 Grammy nominations.
In addition to the huge success of "Iris" , Dizzy Up The Girl featured three additional top forty singles, with the songs "Slide" , "Broadway" , and "Black Balloon" . Dizzy Up The Girl is a pleasantly varied, mix of 14 tracks that are very well written and brilliantly performed songs by these clearly talented musicians. Most of the songs display a lot of the kind emotion that makes for a really great listen. Clearly drawing from what I can only imagine are their own real life experiences. At different points touching on the most real emotions of love, heartbreak, pain, failed relationships and unattainable romance. They’re all here.

01. "Dizzy" – 2:41
02. "Slide" – 3:33
03. "Broadway" – 3:59
04. "January Friend" – 2:45
05. "Black Balloon" – 4:10
06. "Bullet Proof" – 4:38
07. "Amigone" – 3:16
08. "All Eyes On Me" – 3:58
09. "Full Forever" – 2:52
10. "Acoustic #3" – 1:57
11. "Iris" – 4:50
12. "Extra Pale" – 2:11
13. "Hate This Place" – 4:24
14. "Name" (Bonus Track) - 4:29

Label: Warner Bros. Records
Genre: Alternative Rock / Pop
Produced: Rob Cavallo & Goo Goo Dolls
Country: U.S.A.