Goo Goo Dolls announce 'Rarities,' new compilation of rare & never-before-heard songs (95-07)

Press ReleaseMay 14, 2021Warner Records

Out Friday, June 25, via Warner Records; preorders available now

Listen to ‘Don’t Change (Live)’ now HERE

On Friday, Grammy-nominated, multi-Platinum-selling band Goo Goo Dolls announced “Rarities,” a brand-new compilation album arriving in digital, vinyl and CD formats Friday, June 25, via Warner Records.

“Rarities” is a retrospective collection of 20 songs spanning Goo Goo Dolls’ career from 1995 to 2007 – a prolific period during which the band released several chart-topping hits, ascended to mainstream stardom and cemented their footing as one of the most influential rock bands in recent memory.

The double-LP features numerous tracks never before released on digital streaming platforms or any physical format, including B-sides, live songs, acoustic renditions, radio performances, international releases and additional non-album tracks.

Alongside the announcement, the group has debuted the first taste from the record: “Don’t Change (Live),” a cover performance of the famed song originally helmed by INXS. Listen now HERE.

Pre-orders for “Rarities” are available HERE, and complete track-listing information can be found below for both digital/CD and vinyl releases.

In celebration of the new album the band is also offering a signed print with their “Rarities” 2LP, and limited-edition merch that includes a hat, sweatshirt, puzzle and T-shirts. All these items can be found in their official online store here.

With more than three decades and counting together as a band, this special release provides a panoramic view of John Rzeznik and Robby Takac’s alternate journey through the past. “Rarities” includes live tracks such as “Let Love In” and “Listen” that were recorded at the legendary Capitol Studios in Hollywood; acoustic versions of iconic singles such as “Iris,” “Slide” and “Name”; international releases including a remix of “Long Way Down” by Grammy Award-winning mixer/producer/engineer Tom Lord-Alge; a one-minute performance of the Major League Baseball-staple “Take Me Out To The Ball Game”; plus other rare tracks from the vault.

‘Rarities’ digital/CD track-listing

  1. “Hit or Miss”
  2. “Nothing Can Change You”
  3. “Long Way Down” (Chris Lord Alge Remix)
  4. “Name” (Live Acoustic)
  5. “Don’t Change” (Live)
  6. “Girl Right Next to Me” (Live Acoustic)
  7. “Another Second Time Around” (Live Acoustic)
  8. “Iris” (Acoustic)
  9. “Slide” (Acoustic)
  10. “Naked” (Remix)
  11. “Black Balloon” (Live)
  12. “Naked” (Live)
  13. “Black Balloon” (Live from “Sessions@AOL”)
  14. “Broadway” (Live from “Sessions@AOL”)
  15. “We’ll Be Here (When You’re Gone)” (Acoustic)
  16. “Better Days” (Acoustic)
  17. “Let Love In” (Live)
  18. “Listen” (Live)
  19. “Feel The Silence” (Live)
  20. “Take Me Out to the Ball Game”



  1. “Hit or Miss”
  2. “Nothing Can Change You”
  3. “Long Way Down” (Chris Lord Alge Remix)
  4. “Name” (Live Acoustic)
  5. “Don’t Change” (Live)


  1. “Girl Right Next to Me” (Live Acoustic)
  2. “Another Second Time Around” (Live Acoustic)
  3. “Iris” (Acoustic)
  4. “Slide” (Acoustic)
  5. “Naked” (Remix)


  1. “Black Balloon” (Live)
  2. “Naked” (Live)
  3. “Black Balloon” (Live from “Sessions@AOL”)
  4. “Broadway” (Live from “Sessions@AOL”)
  5. “We’ll Be Here (When You’re Gone)” (Acoustic)


  1. “Better Days” (Acoustic)
  2. “Let Love In” (Live)
  3. “Listen” (Live)
  4. “Feel The Silence” (Live)
  5. “Take Me Out To The Ball Game”

This past April, the Goo Goo Dolls released a surprise extended-play titled “EP 21” via Warner Records. Produced by frontman Rzeznik and recorded during the pandemic, the project features stripped-back versions of four fan-favorite tracks from the band’s catalogue.

The Goos are currently in the studio recording their anticipated 13th LP.